Community

You Walk, We Donate: Gixo Fundraisers

Part of being a community is giving back to those around you who are in need. Since Gixo launched in 2017, we’ve held regular fundraisers in the app benefiting organizations including Toys for Tots, Crisis Textline, and Girls Who Code. Rather than ask for fiscal donations, we ask our Teammates to walk or run and Gixo donates money on their behalf based on mileage covered over the course of the class.

Over the next week, we’re hosting three fundraising events, two of which directly impact our Teammates. Each event is hosted by a live coach who gives provides personalized running/walking tips, shares real-time stats, and cheers everyone on through the entire virtual event. People can run or walk from anywhere they have cellular service — outdoors, or on a treadmill.

Event: Pancreatic Cancer Walk or Run

When: Saturday, November 17 @ 10 am EST / 7 am PST

Benefitting: Pancreatic Cancer Action Network (PanCAN)

The Backstory: Gixo member Katie Gorman asked if Gixo would consider hosting a fundraiser to support pancreatic cancer and to honor her father, Richard Gorman, who was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and passed away in 2016. This will be the first-ever member-requested fundraiser and we wanted to support her by organizing the event. Gixo will be donating $5 per mile to PanCAN, a non-profit on an urgent mission to save lives through research, clinical initiatives, patient services, and advocacy. All donations will be made in memory of Katie’s father.

Event: CA Fire Fundraiser Walk or Run

When: Sunday, November 18 @ 11 am EST / 8 am PST

Benefitting: Gixo member Kim Lathrop (GoFundMe)

The Backstory: One of our Gixo coaches noticed Kim GoFundMe page — she had lost her home and her job to the Camp Fire in Northern California. After posting it on the Gixo Teammates page, we reached out to Kim to see if we could host a fundraiser this Sunday to help her as she starts to rebuild. Gixo will be contributing $5 per mile to Kim’s GoFundMe.

Event: Turkey Trot 5K

When: Thursday, November 22 every hour on the hour starting at 8 am EST / 5 am PST to Noon EST / 9 am PST (5 events)

Benefitting: Feeding America

The Backstory: This is the second year Gixo will be raising money for Feeding America, who is supporting local food banks throughout CA that have been impacted by the wildfires.

For the first time, Gixo has made these events free to attend. Like all Gixo live classes, this event is capped at 40 to ensure each participant has personalized experience. How to sign up:

  1. Click the link for the event(s) you want to attend: Pancreatic Cancer Walk or Run, CA Fire Fundraiser Walk or Run, and/or Turkey Trot 5K
  2. Download the Gixo app
  3. Tap the Classes tab and scroll to the day of the event
  4. Tap Sign Up
  5. On the day of the event, open the app a few minutes before to get everything set up. All you need is a charged phone, headphones, comfortable shoes, and a place to walk or run. Gixo will handle all donations.

 

If you can’t make the live walk/run, all three of these events will be available to take On Demand through Sunday, Nov 25.